Tags

, ,

Hmmm…it seems my weekly art journal posts are turning into monthly posts.  I have been so busy filling orders for my Etsy shop I have no time or energy left for art journaling, which makes my creative muse very sad. 😦

The good news however, is that I managed to finish up an art journal page this week to submit to my art journaling group.

Here it is in process. I painted a background of pumpkin orange and sienna brown. Then I started gluing down random bits of paper and images.

The Postmaster General was drawn by my talented little guy. The subject matter is a bit odd for a youngster, but he is a history buff and loves US Presidents. His “research” led him to discover other political offices and appointments, including the Postmaster General.

That being said, I went with the postage theme, finding post-related stamps and images.

I decided to incorporate the art journal group’s theme of using Distress Inks (by Tim Holtz, Ranger Industries) into this partially finished page.

I sponged Vintage Photo Distress Ink over the page. Then I FINALLY opened the jar of Distress Crackle paint I bought two years ago and applied it over the green paper.

I’m so bad about that–I find cool art supplies and then hoard them in my cabinet until they dry up. I guess that’s the “Secrets” part of the page. All the secrets I have in my cabinets!

